Composers and Authors /

Lācis, Kārlis (1977)

Biography   Works  

Kārlis Lācis (born 21 September 1977) is a well-known name among Latvian contemporary composers. His recent creative contribution includes musicals "Pūt vējiņi" (2012) and Onegin (2013), both rewarded with the highest annual theatre award for the best music author. Along with the scores for theatre productions, movies and musical arrangements, big part of his work is dedicated to vocal and choral music, symphonic and instrumental compositions, including "Te Deum" (2014) with the State Choir Latvija and double concerto for flute, oboe and orchestra "42.195" (2014) with Liepaja symphony orchestra., "Rorate coeli" (2014) for soprano, saxophone and organ and the upcoming premiere with Latvian National symphony orchestra - symphony Via Crucis. Karlis Lacis was born in Tukums. He graduated Kandava Children’s School of Music (piano class), Kandava secondary school (1992), Jāzeps Mediņš College of Music in Riga (piano class, 1997) and the Latvian Academy of Music, where he studied piano with Juris Kalnciems (1997–2001, bachelor’s degree, 2003–2005, master’s degree), as well as composition with Juris Karlsons (2001–2002).

Web page:

Attached images

Friends / Partners